If you notice a mistake in the text , highlight it and press Ctrl+Enter in order to send information to the editor.

Snap elections are scheduled in four communities

On December 8th, in addition to the regular local elections, snap elections are also scheduled. According to information published on the official website of the Central Election Commission, on that day the village mayor and council members will be elected in four communities.


They will be electa  mayor in Taperakan of Ararat region and in Avan of Aragatsotn region.


Sasha Torosyan and Mihran Manaseryan, former heads of the Avan and Taperakan communities, did not hold office until the end of their term.


Sasha Torosyan was elected community leader as a result of the September 18th, 2016 community leader election. On the basis of Article 26 (1) (1) of the Law on Local Self-Government, that is, On August 7th , 2008, the Avan Community Council drafted a protocol on early termination of community leader’s authority.


Mihran Manaseryan, who has been in power since 2002, submitted his resignation on September 1th. The community council drafted a protocol on early termination of the mayor’s authority and submitted it to the Ministry of Territorial Administration and Infrastructure. Mihran Manaseryan was elected community leader on September 18, 2016.


The Rainbow Community Council has 5 members, only one of whom is a woman Ani Melikyan  born in 1992.


The Norashen council consists of 9 members, all of whom were male. From March 6th, 2019 to September 6th, 2019, the Council of Elders was suspended on the grounds of non-attendance. The meetings were not convened because of the absence of the majority of the council members.


The Norashen Community Council of Ararat region was formed as a result of the September 18th, 2016 election of community council members.


Candidates who want to run in snap elections must submit the required documents for registration on November 13th-17th, registration is November 17th-19th. The pre-election campaign will start on November 26th and end on December 6. Candidates can withdraw by November 28.


It should be reminded that on December 8th in another 12th communities regular elections are scheduled. Ten of them will  elect mayor and two will elect councilors. At this time, only three women have been nominated for council elections – two in Anushavan community of Shirak region and one in Ddmashen community of Gegharkunik region. There are no women among the candidates for mayor. The official registration ends on November 13th.

Views: 530

Վերադառնալ վերև